Self Defense, training, firearms, guns, knives, fighting, tactics, Utah, Cedar City, St. George, Southern Utah, Marine Corps, Special Operations, weapon, pepper spray, Defensive Training

FAQS on the Utah CCW

Utah Concealed Firearms Permit Class, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m., Saturday, May 18, 2019 in Cedar City - Cost $50

Utah Concealed Firearms Permit Class, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m., Saturday, July 20, 2019 in Cedar City - Cost $50

Q: Do I have to be a Utah resident to get a Utah permit?

A: No. However, recent changes to Utah law do require residents of states with reciprocity with Utah or which recognize the Utah permit, to first obtain a permit from their home state. See the list of states that recognize the Utah permit.

Back to top

Q: What must be submitted with my application?

A: You must attend a Utah BCI certified Concealed Firearms Class and receive an application bearing the stamp of a Utah BCI certified instructor. Additionally, Utah requires a set of fingerprints, 2"x2" passport photo taken against a white background, and a check, money order, or credit card payment of $57 for Utah residents and $67 for non-residents. The fee covers the fee charged by the State of Utah and the fee charged by the FBI for the fingerprint processing. On Target provides fingerprints and passport photos to each student. This saves the average student approximately $30 over other instructors who require their students to obtain their fingerprints from local law enforcement and get their own passport photo. Additionally, at the conclusion of our classes, we will collect all of the paperwork, the application fee, and materials and submit them to the Utah BCI for you, which typically reduces the time to receive your permit.

Back to top

Q: Which States Accept the Utah CCW?

A: Acceptance falls into two categories, Recognition (no formal agreement between the states) and Reciprocity (a formal written agreement between the secrtaries of each state).

1.            Reciprocity:  A formalized and usually conditional agreement between states that allows the acceptance of concealed firearm permits and firearms possession within these states respectively.  States with formal reciprocity are as follows:

2.            Recognition:   An informal policy of recognizing another states concealed firearm permit by virtue of it’s validity in the state of issue. States that recognize Utah’s concealed firearm permit are as follows: 

Colorado, Indiana, and Michigan will only recognize the Utah permit for Utah residents. Non- Utah residents will not be able to carry in those states.

3.            States that do not recognize Utah permits:  

Note:             It is the responsibility of the Utah concealed firearm permit holder to research and abide by each state’s laws.   

Note:  Utah will recognize valid permits from all states or counties in accordance with U.C.A. § 76-10-523 (2) (b).

 

Reciprocity Map

Back to top

Q: How old do I have to be to get a Utah Concealed Carry Permit?

A: Federal law requires anyone purchasing a handgun from a licensed dealer to be at least 21 years of age. Utah requires all applicants for a Utah Concealed Firearms Permit to be 21. Those between the ages of 18 and 21 can obtain a provisional permit. The process to obtain a provisional permit is identical to a full permit.

Back to top

Q: I was convicted of a non-felony crime. Am I eligible to get a permit?

A: Utah Concealed Firearm Permit Denial, Suspension and/or Revocation Criteria

Class C and B Misdemeanors……………………………………………………………….3 years

Class A Misdemeanors……………………………………………………………………...5 years

(traffic offenses other than DUI do not apply i.e. speeding, no insurance, etc.)

DUI (alcohol related reckless or similar conviction)……..………………………………...6 years

Juvenile felony conviction (non violent)……………………………………………………7 years

Juvenile felony conviction (violent, crimes against person)……………………..…...10 years

Felony conviction…………………………………………………………………….…….Lifetime
(unless dismissed, reduced to a misdemeanor or expunged)

Domestic Violence…………………………………………………………………………Lifetime
(unless dismissed, reduced to an infraction or expunged)

Protective Orders………………………………………………………………………..…Lifetime
(unless removed, must be a family member or cohabitate) (not a neighbor, friend, etc.)

Mentally Incompetent (adjudicated by a state or federal court……………….…...Lifetime
(unless withdrawn or reversed)

Danger to self or other (threat of or attempt of suicide, with or without an arrest or conviction)...Revocation
(time frame based on the CFP Boards decision)

Past pattern of violent behavior……………………………………………..…..…Revocation
(time frame based on the CFP Boards decision

ALL TIME FRAMES START FROM THE DATE THE CASE IS CLOSED.  THIS INCLUDES PROBATION, FINES, COURT IMPOSED ACTIONS, ETC.

Reason for suspension:

  • Charged with a crime of violence
  • Has an outstanding warrant
  • Indictment on a felony

Moral Turpitude disqualifiers (includes but not limited to):

theft, fraud, tax evasion, issuing bad checks, interference with a police officer, fleeing, resisting arrest, failure to obey police, obstruction of justice, wildlife violations involving a weapon, bribery, perjury, extortion, arson, criminal mischief, falsifying government records, forgery, receiving stolen property, firearms violations, burglary, vandalism and kidnapping 

The following crimes are also disqualifiers:

Unlawful sexual conduct, pornographic and harmful material, offenses involving the use of alcohol (i.e. illegal use or consumption, etc.) offenses involving the use of narcotics

Back to top

Q: Am I required to pass a shooting test to get a permit?

A: Currently, Utah does not require a shooting proficieny to receive a CFP. There is discussion in the Utah Legislature about adding this requirement in the future.

Back to top

Q: Where Can I get more information on the Utah CFP?

A: The Utah Bureau of Criminal Identification website has more information on the Utah CFP.

Back to top

Q: I am a legal immigrant and do not have US citizenship. Can I get a Utah CFP?

A: Yes, please download the INS requirements for legal immigrants wishing to obtain a Utah CFP. (Requires Adobe Acrobat Reader)

Back to top

The cost of ignorance is far higher than the price of our training.

The Second Amendment of the U.S. Constitution:
A well regulated Militia, being necessary to the security of a free State, the right of the people to keep and bear Arms, shall not be infringed.

Dan Kidder • BCI/ NRA Certified Instructor • (435) 868-8919 • Cedar City, UT

Self Defense, training, firearms, guns, knives, fighting, tactics, Utah, Cedar City, St. George, Southern Utah, Marine Corps, Special Operations, weapon, pepper spray, Defensive Training